Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder

Ric Ocasek-Double-bagger!

I came across a slideshow on my local news website entitled “20 Butt-Ugly Rock Stars”  and while I do agree with the assessment in most of the cases (at least physically), their point was that all of these guys have a beautiful woman on their arm.  I think they have forgotten that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Physical attractiveness seems to be the basis of their choices and if we are being honest, that is usually the first thing we look at.  Yes guys, we girls look too!  Every one of us has at sometime looked at someone and thought they were the most attractive thing God ever created, the catch is that your friend standing right next to you will look at them and think ‘average’ or even ‘ugly’.  It’s personal taste.

Brad Pitt-Just Average

Women all over the place swoon over Brad Pitt, but I have never found anything the least bit attractive about him physically, he is just average in my eyes.   I just don’t understand what the fascination is with his ‘looks’, he’s  not my idea of an attractive man. Yes I’ll take one Norman Reedus type over dozens of Brad Pitts any day if we are just talking physically attractive.

Norman Reedus-Smokin hot!

But physical attraction by itself is not enough.  I know that I have gone out on dates with gorgeous guys and before the date is over, all I wanted was to get as far away from the jackass as possible.  Once he opened his mouth or I spent any amount of time in his company, he transformed into the most hideous creature imaginable because what was under that Norman exterior turned out  to be a Ric Ocasek interior.  I have also gone out with much less attractive guys and found that the looks really didn’t matter, inside they were truly beautiful.

The point is that for someone else, the beast may actually be the beauty after all.

2 responses to “Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder

  1. I hate to admit it….but before a few years before I actually married my husband who I love and think is the most beautiful person in the world..I turned down the opportunity to date him (someone tried to set me up with him) because I wasn’t “attracted” to him…..
    Thank God for a second chance to reevaluate my definition of what “attractive” is.

Leave a Reply

