The only Oscar around my house is a weiner named Mayer!

It’s that time again, The Oscars are here!  That’s right, time for a bunch of self important Hollywood bigwigs to pat themselves on the back for the lackluster garbage that they usually churn out every year.  Think about it, how often does the Oscars actually reflect true success as measured at the box-office?

Case in point and what really turned me off about the Oscars was seeing Out of Africa pick up seven Academy Awards in 1985.  Out of Africa? Really?  $128,499,205 at the box office and a budget of $28 million.  And it was up against The Color Purple $142,000,000 box office with a budget of $15 million.  The saddest part is that I couldn’t find one person who had actually seen Out of Africa while almost everyone I knew had actually gone to the theater and seen The Color Purple!  Where did that $128 million in box office receipts come from exactly?

Occasionally someone in Hollywood messes up and gives awards to someone who makes movies that are successful with film goers (His name is usually James Cameron).  Do Titanic and Avatar ring a bell?  Both films were wildly successful with movie goers and the accolades were well deserved.

There’s also the fact that numerous great independent films get overlooked when it comes time to hand out the Oscars.  The Oscars are nothing more than a closed group doing a lot of ego stroking.  When the Oscars actually start reflecting real success with the public, then I’ll worry about them.

Until then I treat it like I treat Billboard rankings, nothing more than an attempt to manipulate and sell the public a bill of goods that has nothing to do with actual success, but in making Hollywood’s canned garbage look good.  I’ll just stick with the hot dog while watching The Walking Dead tonight, thanks.  At least that Oscar has proven success among the masses.

4 responses to “The only Oscar around my house is a weiner named Mayer!

    • Honestly I don’t care about that part either. I don’t care who is wearing what, who shows up with whom or any of the other Oscar night tomfoolery. It still comes down to selling people a bill of goods.

      Around the water cooler this morning conversations probably went something like this: “Ohhh! Did you see? Angelina Jolie was wearing a designer gown that costs more than most people make in a month!” “Oh did you see who showed up with George Clooney?”

      I can just think of more important things to dwell on, but that’s just me.

  1. I have seen “Out of Africa” and can tell you it is an beautifully shot bore! It won because that was the height of the “Let’s build a shrine to Meryl.” days. (I’m not bad mouthing Meryl Streep as she is one of my favorite actresses. If people like Joan Collins are voting members of the Academy then how seriously can we really take the whole thing? I will admit to watching the red carpet since I secretly enjoy trashing anyone who hires a stylist, a hair dresser, a make up artist, spends 4 or 5 hours primping, and still manages to look like living hell. Hurray for Hollywood!

    • “I will admit to watching the red carpet since I secretly enjoy trashing anyone who hires a stylist, a hair dresser, a make up artist, spends 4 or 5 hours primping, and still manages to look like living hell.”

      Chris that was my gut busting laugh of the week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

